Good Day Sunshine

I need to laugh, and when the sun is out
I’ve got something I can laugh about.
I feel good, in a special way.
I’m in love and it’s a sunny day.

— John Lennon and Paul McCartney

Kimberly A. Bettes at Here’s what I’m thinking and Honoré Dupuis at Of Glass & Paper have nominated me for the Sunshine Award. Thanks! You’ve brightened my day. Kimberly is a horror novelist living in the Ozarks who insists she doesn’t run moonshine. Do we believe her? You’ll find intriguing titles on her book list. Honoré is a writer, runner, metaverse-explorer, and all-around good guy. He also wrote a doll story that I find very disturbing.

sunshineaward1

The Sunshine Award is presented to “bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” I’m not certain I deserve that recognition, but I’ll take it.

Here’s how it works (and feel free to adjust as necessary):

1. Announce your win and link back to the person who nominated you.

2. Display the award logo on your blog.

3. Answer the list of questions. (You have two choices here: Kimberly’s questions or Honoré’s. Or feel free to mix and match.)

4. Nominate ten bloggers for the award and link to them.

5. Let the bloggers know you’ve nominated them.

Kimberly’s Questions

What inspired you to start blogging?

Like many writers, I started blogging because it seemed like a good way to get my name out there. Making friends through blogging was an unexpected bonus.

How did you come up with the name of your blog?

I kept it simple and went with my pen name.

What is your favorite blog that you like to read?

I like to read blog posts that provide tips for writing or indie publishing. I also enjoy reading interesting pieces of writing. So, on any given day, I could have a couple of favorite posts among the many blogs I follow.

What is your dream job?

Writing is my dream job, although I don’t know if I’d ever want to put all of my eggs in that basket. It’s nice to take a break from writing from time to time. Right now, I have it pretty good, balancing my freelance work and my writing.

Is your glass half full or half empty?

Half full. I appreciate what I have, and if something isn’t going my way, I figure out how to turn it around.

If you could go anywhere on a week’s vacation, where would you go?

That’s a good question. I love mountains and forests, but those are fairly close by, and I can get to them whenever I want. I’d say a tropical island in the Pacific. I’ve had a good time in Hawaii, so someplace like that would be great.

What food can you absolutely not eat?

Eggs and raspberries. I have many food allergies, but those are the biggies.

Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

Depends on the day. Milk chocolate mainly, but I do opt for dark from time to time.

How much time do you spend blogging? In other words, are you one of those lucky people who can dash off a blog post in no time, or do you take forever on one post to get it just right?

I’m a little slow on the blogging front. I tend to rethink what I want to say, and I’ve tossed out several ideas I’d already put some effort into. Writing fiction is faster and easier for me.

Do you watch TV? If so, what are some of your favorite shows?

I’ve always liked TV. Some of my current favorites are Breaking Bad, Justified, Mad Men, Game of Thrones, the Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Supernatural, House Hunters International, Survivor, the Amazing Race, Top Chef, and the NBC Nightly News.

Shows I like that are no longer in production include Battlestar Galactica, Rome, Deadwood, the Tudors, Seinfeld, Veronica Mars, and Buffy.

Honoré’s Questions

Favorite color: I like shades of yellow orange and various reds with purple tones.

Favorite animal: I’m a cat devotee. The felines with whom we share our property wouldn’t have it any other way.

Favorite number: 8

Favorite non-alcoholic drink: It’s a toss-up between tea and Reed’s Ginger Brew.

Facebook or Twitter: I’m not on Facebook, so I’d have to say Twitter.

Your passion: I’m passionate about understanding behavior, human and animal.

Giving or getting presents: I enjoy both equally. Once in a while, I’ll buy myself a birthday present. Then I tell my husband he’s off the hook.

Favorite day: The days when everything falls into place are rare and special.

Favorite flowers: I never met a flower I didn’t adore. I’m visualizing zinnias, snapdragons, and sunflowers in my flower beds this year, with marigolds, lavender, nasturtium, and fuchsia on the deck.

800px-Sunflowers-Wikipedia-Public-Domain

Drum roll, please. My nominations for the Sunshine Award are:

Sherry at Fundinmental

Seyi Sandra

Phillip McCollum

Christoph Fischer

Kira at Wrestling Life

Helenvalentina

Coyotero at Human Writes

Gpcox at Pacific Paratrooper

Angel Manna

M. Latimer-Ridley

Please accept the nomination in the spirit in which it was given. Some prefer not to post awards on their blog or have already received this award. No problem! I’m simply happy to share your website with others.

13 Comments

Filed under Announcements, Blog Awards

13 responses to “Good Day Sunshine

  1. Congratulations – very well deserved! And thank you for thinking of me, very kind of you…oh, and I agree on your television show picks!! 🙂 🙂

  2. Congratulations. Sunshine is as Sunshine does

  3. Congratulations on your award and thanks for my nomination. God bless you and do have a great day!
    🙂

  4. sherry fundin

    Thank you so much Marny. I love the award and will display it proudly. I will work on a post and get back to you. Have a great day!!!

  5. You bet, Sherry! Your nomination is well deserved.

  6. I nominated you for the Wonderful Team Membership Award. Go here for details. http://wp.me/p2Qoij-sb And yes you don’t need to do anything you don’t want to do.

  7. Aah thank you so much Marny!! Congratulations on your award and thank you so much for nominating us, we’re absolutely chuffed! 😀

  8. Pingback: Sharing The Sunshine | fundinmentalfundinmental

Leave a comment