Inspired by You

I’m pleased to announce that Melissa Robitille nominated me for the Very Inspirational Blogger Award. She is a writer and editor with two published books under her belt: In One Year’s Time and Blackstone Gate. Her current project is Smuggler’s Justice, a science fiction novel she wrote during NaNoWriMo 2012. Now that’s inspiring!

Here’s how it works (and feel free to adjust as necessary):

Link back to the person who nominated you.
Display the award logo on your blog.
State seven things about yourself.
Nominate fifteen bloggers for this award and link to them.
Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements.

vib

Seven things about me:

I’m American and my husband is Canadian. The pronunciation of the letter Z is a constant source of friction.

The first car I drove was a tractor.

When I was three or four, I ate one small bite of a banana and promptly threw up. I still hate the smell and taste of bananas (even diluted in banana nut bread) and can barely stand to look at them.

I participated in many parades as a kid, first with our dressed-up dogs in Fourth of July pet parades, then on horseback for the same event a few years later. In high school, I performed in Christmas parades with the marching band. (I played flute.)

I enjoy a variety of teas, both caffeinated and herbal. Japanese genmaicha (green tea with roasted rice) is my favorite.

Freeblood, my first novel, is an urban fantasy set in Portland, Oregon. I’m currently working on the second book in the series, Fastblood.

Crowds and noise drive me nuts (except for the occasional parade). My idea of a great getaway is a remote yurt on the Oregon Coast.

A remote yurt on the Oregon Coast

A remote yurt on the Oregon Coast

My nominations:

If I selected you for the Liebster Award, I didn’t pick you for this one. This doesn’t mean I don’t find you inspirational. I just didn’t want to name you twice in a row.

T. W. Dittmer

John w Howell

Adetokunbohr

Ash N. Finn

Stephen Edger

Laura Thomas

Thomas Rydder

Please accept the nomination in the spirit in which it was given. Some prefer not to post awards on their blog. No problem! I’m simply happy to share your inspirational site with others.

18 Comments

Filed under Announcements, Blog Awards

18 responses to “Inspired by You

  1. Sherry

    Congratulations, Marnie. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thank you for the nomination. This will be the third but certainly feel honored as if it were the first. Thanks for thinking of me. – John

  3. You’re welcome, John. I always enjoy my visits to your blog. 🙂

  4. Congratulations on your award. Your raccoon gravatar is awesome, saw that on another blog and just had to click it and see where it went.

  5. Congratulations Marny, and thanks so much for the shoutout! Love the look of the remote yurt, looks perfect for a writing retreat.

  6. My pleasure, Ash! It would be a great writing retreat if I could sit down to write while at the beach. 🙂 The deluxe yurts even have a kitchenette and a bathroom with a shower — hard to beat and you’re right in the woods.

  7. adetokunbohr

    Thanks for the nomination. You’ve got a nice blog here. Well done.

  8. adetokunbohr

    You just made my day. Thanks. 😀

  9. Thank you so much for taking the time to check out LaeLand and liking a post. Please, come back soon. All the best, 🙂

  10. Congratulations! I love that the first car you drove was a tractor!!

  11. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. For details on acceptance please visit http://www.johnwhowell.com . I appreciate your posts. – John

Leave a Reply

