Belief in the Supernatural

Ever seen a ghost? I haven’t, but I believe they exist. And I’m not alone.

About 34 percent of Americans believe in ghosts, according to an AP-IPSOS poll conducted in 2007 (http://tinyurl.com/85n5ybn). A smaller number, 23 percent, say they have actually seen a ghost or been in the presence of one.

Those numbers don’t surprise me. I’ve been known to watch a ghost-hunting TV show or two, and a few friends have even experienced ghosts. The paranormal definitely intrigues me, and that’s the main reason I write about it. I also love mythology, folklore, and anything a tad offbeat, a little out of the ordinary.

The poll also found that:
48% believe in ESP
34% believe in UFOs
14% say they have seen a UFO
19% believe in spells or witchcraft

Belief in the supernatural is worldwide. For instance, in the United Kingdom, 43 percent believe they have been contacted by the dead or contacted the dead themselves, according to a 2005 poll conducted by the Sun (http://tinyurl.com/6gtcone). In addition:

30% of men and 38% of women in the UK believe in ghosts
36% of English people and 44% of Scots believe in ancient rituals and omens
15% of the under-34s say they believe in magic (compared with 9% average)

Have you ever seen a ghost or a UFO? Do you believe in magic? Telepathy? Precognition? Feel free to share your paranormal experiences in the comments section.

2 Comments

Filed under News of the Weird

2 responses to “Belief in the Supernatural

  1. I saw a ghost when I was at senior school. There was an old house on the school premises that was used for special lessons and make-up/costumes for school productions. There were rumours that the house was haunted and I always felt a ‘presence’ whenever I went in there. One night when I was in school for a production I was walking from the main building to the house and I saw an old lady materialise in front of me. She looked kind of sad. I wasn’t scared, surprisingly, and said hello to her. She nodded her head at me and smiled before disappearing again. That is my only ghost sighting, but I believe in spirits and have the gift of clairvoyance (I’m not very good with it yet, but I’m learning! :o)

    • That’s a fascinating anecdote, Carlie. I know I would be nervous even with a benevolent ghost. Kudos to you for not freaking out!

      Thank you for sharing your experience.
      –Marny

Leave a Reply

